Athletics Namibia held a Special Congress yesterday 29 February 2020 at the Arebbusch Travel Lodge, which elected a new leadership to lead the federation until 2024. The Special Congress was convened following a resolution of the Annual Congress on the 16th November 2019, where the Constitution was amended to make Athletics Namibia leadership structure leaner. The streamlined structure is intended to make Athletics Namibia more efficient and focused on the core activities of athletics. They represent the necessary continuous introspection necessary by any organisation to remain relevant and effective in their environment and circumstances they find themselves. The new leadership is as below:

President – Mr Erwin Naimhwaka (retained); Vice President – Mr Leon Nienaber (new); Secretary General – Ms Madeleine Kotze (retained); Finance Secretary – Ms Leorine Waggie (retained); Track & Field Secretary – Mr Bethold Karumendu (new); Road Running Secretary – Mr Robert Kaxuxuena (retained); Cross Country and Mountain Running Secretary – Mr Remigius Iiyambo (new); Officials Secretary – Ms Corlia Maritz (new); Coaching Secretary – Mr Louis Cloete (retained); Selection Secretary – Mr Modestus Mwiila (retained); Publicity Secretary – Mr Edward Kapewasha (new); Medical and Anti Doping Secretary – Mr Charlton Rickerts (retained). They will be joined by Mr Basilius Karupu, the Athletes Representative.